New trophy honors dedicated E Sloop fleet veteran

Published: Sep. 09, 2010, 12:14 a.m.

Charlie Zusman



By Charles Zusman/New Jersey Boating





Strong winds prevented racing at the BBYRA finale, but the sailors relished their season victories and smiled for the camera.

Hurricane Earl spun off enough wind in his passage off New Jersey to force the Barnegat Bay Yacht Racing Association to cancel its final racing of the championship series Saturday. But he couldn't stop a grand party, and good cheer prevailed as skippers and crews gathered at the Seaside Park Yacht Club for their annual fest and awards ceremony.

The BBYRA has been racing since 1914, but each season there is room for something new. This year a new trophy was launched for the morning E Sloop fleet, the Clifford W. Campbell Trophy. Campbell, a member of the Toms River Yacht Club, has raced on the bay for 70 years, and the accolades noted his dedication to the E Sloop fleet.

Campbell's watchword is "sportsmanship."

"One of the things that goes with being a winner is you have to set an example," he said, noting that the passing generations bring youngsters into the sport.

"It's a sport, it's not life or death. When you go home you want to feel good about yourself."

Campbell, 79, began crewing on an E Sloop as a youngster and first skippered one in 1959.

He has seen the class grow as incremental changes were made, but it's the same boat it has been for decades. In the right conditions an E Sloop will do 20 mph, Campbell said,

likely making it one of the fastest boats around, excluding multihulls. Its speed attracts younger sailors, Campbell said, ensuring the class's longevity.

The E Sloop design itself spans the generations. The sleek shape, described as a 28-foot surfboard, looks like it just came off the drawing board.

Formal racing began, however, in 1924. The boat is a transplant from the Midwest, and it took root in New Jersey at the Shore and also Lake Hopatcong.

It's telling that this year's winner of the trophy, Bobby Koar, of the Bay Head Yacht Club is one of the new generation to take to the E Sloop.

"It's a very physical boat, and you need a solid crew," Koar said. "It keeps evolving."

The boats are sailed by a crew of four.

The traditionalists on Barnegat Bay refer to the original name of E Sloop. Elsewhere the boat is referred to as E Scow.

Crews are scheduled to race Friday through Sunday at the E Scow National Championship at Little Egg Harbor Yacht Club on Long Beach Island.

Other winners in the BBYRA championship series are M Sloop, John Applegate, Lavallette YC: Full Rig Laser, Had Brick, Island Heights YC; Sneakbox, Todd Nosher, Seaside Park YC; Marshall Sandpiper, Paul Gelenitis; Metedeconk River YC; Marshall Sanderling, Mark Schleckser, Lavallette YC.

Also Club 420, Zach Schippe, Beachwood YC; Sunfish Open, Brigitte Hoey, Beachwood YC; Sunfish Junior, Trace Dittenhofer, Ocean Gate YC; A Cat, Bill O'Brien, Bay Head YC; Lightning, Jim Carson, Metedeconk River YC; Flying Scot, Glen Dickson, Bay Head YC; and Ensign, Fred Wiedeke Jr., Toms River Yacht Club.

_ -