

## **Asbury Park Press**

Asbury Park, New Jersey • Sun, Sep 3, 1972 Page 71

## Article clipped from Asbury Park Press FINAL BBYRA REGATTA

## 'Squan River Sailors Win 4 Titles

SEASIDE PARK — Manasquan River skippers w four class titles while Toms River and Mantoloking each took three as the Barnegat Bay Yacht Racing Associa tion completed its 59th season in stormy weather yesterday at the Seaside Park Yacht Club.

Season prizes went to 18 class champions and special awards to individual sailing champions and for season's accomplishments at the conclusion of the 10th regatta.

T

0

The final races were sailed in 15-20 knot northeasterlies. occasional rain and choppy seas. Three morning classes involving junior sailors, were canceled by the conditions.

Five sailors retained their titles — Jim Carson, Metedeconk River, Lightnings; Cliff Campbell, Toms River, E Sloops; Howard Wright, Manasquan River, A Sneakboxe and two Island Heights sailors, Linda Schmicker, Barnegat 17's and Warren Doscher, Finns.

Carson has now won the

Lightning crown 15 times in the past 16 years. Wright has taken the A Sneakbox ho four straight years.

The Manasquan Riv r champions were: Mike Heinrich Sr., Jets; John Harkrader, M Sloops, C Division; Wyne Patterson, Hobie 16's and Wright.

Lynn Campbell, M Sloops. A Division, her father Cliff in E Sloops and Alan Romefelt, Intermediate Penguins, were the Toms River winners. Jan O'Malley, M Sloops, B Division, Janet de-Camp, B Sneakboxes and Tom Barton, Lasers, were the Mantoloking champions.

Charles Hutchinson, Senior Penguins and Barry Connolly's A Cat, Bat won titles for Seaside Park.

Shawn Kempton, Ocean Gate, won the Junior Penguins with a perfect score. Amy Dunbar, Bay Head, won Blue Jays and Ralph Manee, Shore Acres, Flying Scots.

The O. G. Dale Memorial trophy for outstanding senior achievement on the bay went to Mantoloking's veteran Runyon Colie Jr. The George R. Powell trophy for junior achievement went to another Mantoloking sailor, Henry Barton.

The Beachwood club won the George Nelson Memorial Past Commodore's trophy for the member club having the most qualifiers in the 10 regattas. The Mantoloking club missed a tie by one qualifier.

Dr. H. Irving Dunn, Bay Head, awarded the North American Yacht Racing Union-sponsored championships conducted by BBYRA. He cited Peggy Roesler, Island Heights, for winning the Atlantic Coast Midget (aged 10-14) championship.

Dr. Dunn served as a judge at the Sears Cup finals last week in Jackson, Miss.

Cliff Campbell won the Wolstenholme Trophy in E Sloops; Connolly's Bat took the Sewell Cup and Hutchinson won the Thatcher trophy for Senior Penguins to feature the final races.

- TOBY PRICE